2019 Classes

  • Henry’s Fords
    Ford automobiles from 1901-1948

  • Motorcars of the Lincoln Highway
    An open class for automobiles of the Lincoln Highway era (1913-1928)

  • Powered by America
    The first “hybrids:” European-built exotics originally equipped with American powerplants.

  • Precise Luxury: Classic-era Lincolns
    Full Classic® Lincoln automobiles

  • Scuderia Italia
    Italian-built sports & performance automobiles

  • American Grandeur
    A class for open-bodied Full Classic ® Packard and Pierce Arrow automobiles

  • American Splendor
    An open class featuring American open-bodied Full Classic® automobiles

  • The Banker’s Hot Rod
    1955-1965 Chrysler 300 “letter cars

  • European Opulence
    An open class featuring European luxury automobiles.

  • European Economy
    An open class featuring popular-priced European automobiles.

  • Hail to the Chief: Studebaker Presidents
    Studebaker Presidents, closed body styles, 1927-1942 & 1955-1958


2019 Awards

Five types of awards will be presented at the 2019 Concours d’Elegance at Copshaholm:

  • Best of Show
    The top award at the Concours d’Elegance. It is selected from the Best of Class and Premier Award winners.

  • Hagerty Junior Judging Award is selected by participants ages six to fourteen to encourage the appreciation of history vehicles

  • Champion Awards are given to other vehicles of special merit

  • Best of Class is presented to the top vehicle in each class

  • Ten Premier Awards will be presented as follows


J. M. Studebaker Award: Most Outstanding Studebaker
J.M. Studebaker joined his brothers’ blacksmith shop in 1857. He oversaw the company’s transition from horse-drawn vehicle to automobiles and remained with the company as Honorary Chairman until his death in 1917.

Leland Award: Most Elegant Lincoln

Raymond Loewy Award: Exemplary Exterior Design
Raymond Loewy was a pioneer in the field of industrial design and one of the most celebrated designers of the 20th century. Loewy-designed Studebakers became styling leaders and remain automotive icons.

Helen Dryden Award: Exemplary Interior Design
Helen Dryden was a renowned fashion illustrator and New York Broadway costume designer during the Jazz age. During the early 1930s, Ms. Dryden oversaw Studebaker’s interior designs.

Fred & Augie Duesenberg Award: Engineering Excellence
Fred & Augie Duesenberg were race-car constructors and creators of the famed Duesenberg passenger cars. The brothers’ names were synonymous with engineering excellence and their vehicle held three Indianapolis 500 wins, a World Land Speed record, and a French Grand Prix (today’s Formula 1) victory.

Mayor's Choice
Selected by a designated officiant of South Bend Mayor Pete Buttigieg.

President's Choice
Selected by the Studebaker National Museum Board of Trustees President.

People’s Choice Award
Selected by popular vote by Concours d’Elegance at Copshaholm attendees.

Tom Cotter Digs This Car
Selected by this year’s Keynote Speaker Tom Cotter.

Vivian & Eric LaVine / LaVine Restorations Award: Spirit of the Hobby


For 45 years, Eric and Vivian LaVine have dedicated their lives to the preservation and restoration of classic cars and their histories. Always quick to offer help with a smile, their passion is helping other get and keep their cars on the road with the highest degree of quality and caring service. Throughout their career, Eric and Vivian have served on countless committees and boards with the goal of sharing these rolling pieces of art with the world. As such, it is in their honor that we present the "Vivian & Eric LaVine / LaVine Restorations Award: Spirit of the Hobby” to honor a person or persons who have demonstrated dedication and passion to the classic car hobby through preservation, restoration, and participation in perpetuating automotive heritage.